paintedpostcards

A topnotch WordPress.com site

“Only love is the tool which will help us to erase the violence” May 21, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — paintedpostcards @ 9:53 am

On 28th April 2013, CHSJ helped set up and participated in a rally for Justice and Peace at Select Citywalk mall.  This is the reaction of Poonam Singh.

My role was as a volunteer to manage the crowd and placing banners so people could easily understand what really was going on over there.  I liked the whole discussion on violence and patriarchy and poetry by Syeeda Hameed, Shabana Azmi and singing By Usha Uthup. Beside this, I liked the people who were present there because they looked very serious on the issue of violence against women and patriarchal system and they were seriously listening to the whole discussion. People were very excited to see Shabana Azmi and Usha Uthup and they enjoyed Usha Uthup’s singing very much. I saw Shabana Azmi and Usha Uthup as I had seen both of them only on TV screen before that. I enjoyed the singing and music by Usha Uthup. I placed the banners in the mall’s balcony for the first time with the team. My lesson was that we cannot erase the violence itself, only love is the tool which will help us to erase the violence. So, we should use this tool in a right way so as to we can change the mentality of each and every person on violence and patriarchy and also I think that we should teach the lesson of love because we want peace and love and nothing else in our society, in our country and also in our world. My challenge was crowd management but as far as I think actually there was not much of a congestion problem during the program.

 

Leave a Reply

